## VT Early Childhood Alliance Annual meeting June 13<sup>th</sup>, 2017 2:30p Randolph, VT

## **MEETING MINUTES**

<u>Attendance</u>: 69, including 51 Alliance individual/organizational members, 2 strategic partners, 14 guests, and 2 staff.

Ann Dillenbeck, Alliance Steering Committee Chair, called the meeting to order at 2:35p.

Sen. Becca Balint welcomed everyone to the meeting and spoke of the importance of advocacy in the State House. Ann followed with a review of the role of the Alliance, and asked Steering Committee members to briefly introduce themselves.

Matt Levin, Alliance Executive Director, facilitated the administrative items on the Meeting agenda. After Matt noted that copies of the Minutes of the 2016 Annual Meeting had been distributed, Sarah Heath, individual member, moved to approve the Minutes, seconded by Amy McMullen, individual member. The motion passed unanimously.

Matt then conducted elections for seats on the Steering Committee. He asked for nominations, and the following members in good standing were nominated:

- Safety Steve Ames (individual) nominated *Ann Dillenbeck* as an Individual Member
- **Economic Security** Renee Swain (Umbrella) nominated *Umbrella*, *Inc.* as an Organizational Member with Renee Swain as their representative
- **Family Support** Amy Shollenberger (Action Circles) nominated *Parent Child Center Network* as an Organizational Member with Claire Kendall as their representative
- **Food Security** Jen Hutchinson (VT Food Bank) nominated *Hunger Free Vermont* as an Organizational Member with Faye Conte as their representative
- **Parents** Judy Pransky (Emerson Falls Playcare) nominated *Ilene Dickinson* as an Individual Member
- **Early Care/Early Ed -- center-based** Judy Pransky (Emerson Falls Playcare) nominated *Emerson Falls Playcare* as an Organizational Member with Judy Pransky as their representative
- Early Care/Early Ed -- afterschool Cassie Willner (VT Afterschool) nominated VT Afterschool as an Organizational Member with Holly Morehouse as their representative
- **Health** Ann Dillenbeck (individual) nominated *VT Family Network* as an Organizational Member with Pam McCarthy as their representative

Janet McLaughlin (VB5) moved to elect the eight nominated candidates to the named Steering Committee seats. Seconded by Pam McCarthy (VFN). All in favor, none opposed.

Matt then asked for nomination for the two **At-Large** seats, and the following members in good standing were nominated:

- Sarah Kenney (Let's Grow Kids) nominated *Let's Grow Kids* as and Organizational Member with Sarah Kenney as their representative
- Cynthia Greene (VAEYC) nominated *VAEYC* as an Organizational Member with Sonja Raymond as their representative

The at-large nominees were accepted unanimously by voice vote.

Matt then called attendees attention to the evaluation forms that had been distributed, which sought to get feedback on the meeting, the Alliance's Governance Document, and on the proposal to include the work "Advocacy" in the Alliance's name starting in January.

Kelly Ault, Alliance Public Engagement Director, then described the simultaneous sessions to follow looking at the Alliance's work over the past year through two different paradigms, Results Based Accountability and Collective Impact. After the sessions, participants reported out hightlights of their discussions. Kelly indicated that notes from the sessions would be gathered and reviewed by the Executive Committee.

Kelly then described and facilitated the issue review session, which sought to gather feedback on Alliance lead organizations' work on issue on the '17 Legislative Agenda, and prospective work next year.

Staff from the state's Congressional delegation – Kate Ash (Sen. Leahy), Sheila Reed (Sen. Sanders), and Kevin Veller (Rep. Welch) – offered closing comments, thanking the Alliance for its work and encouraging engagement with their offices as the discussions about the federal budget continue.

With thanks for all, the meeting was adjourned by acclimation at 415p.

Respectfully submitted, R. Swain (Sect.) and Matt Levin (Exec. Dir.)